I Don’t Know What To Title This.

The first song that I thought about in terms of significance to my life in this moment is, “Call It Off” by Tegan and Sara. It so encapsulates the feelings I have toward a close friend of mine who almost became something more, but never will. We are close and have a deep love for each other. When we met it was love at first sight, but it was never actualized due to their being in a relationship at the time. We made the time to stay friends. Sometimes it’s hard. Other times it feels right. At the end of the day many of Tegan and Sara’s songs ring true, but I’ve been listening to them for over ten years, so maybe they just get me.

There are few things more unsettling than wanting to say goodbye, but not having the courage or strength to walk away entirely really sucks. Not that I want to be with this person in a romantic way. I now know them too well to know that they have a lot that they need to work on, but… I do still love them. And that sucks.

Death Cab’s “Someday You Will Be Loved” is a classic when I am in the need in of a good cry. On the surface this song just seems so cruel and harsh, but after listening to it so many times I realized how sweet the sentiment actually is. My friend called me the other day to tell me that her friend’s fiance had just called the wedding off. She wanted advice on what she should say, because she was too emotionally invested in the couple to think clearly.

I told her that I thought in the long run he did her a favor by breaking off the wedding. She didn’t get left at the altar nor will she have to go through a divorce once he finally did work up the courage to leave. Breaking up sucks. It always hurts. It’s always shitty. If you’re the breaker-upper then you are automatically the bad guy. Had he lead her on it would’ve been more painful in the long run and at least he was honest about it. It will suck for awhile, but she will absolutely get through it and will be great in time.

Honesty can be very painful, but I would rather know that I am not loved or valued by that person.

“Origin of Love” from Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

This song is inspired by Plato’s Symposium. As a philosophical nerd it appeals to my appreciation of ancient texts. Also, the visuals throughout the video are wonderfully done. If you haven’t watched that movie, you should. It will change your life.

I would write more on it, but honestly I think it’s one of those things that should be watched and simply appreciated for what it is.

Blamo! Day 3 DONE!

